The Governance Board on the wharf at Miramar, Wellington

The independent Board undertakes governance of the Challenge.

The Board reports to the NIWA Board and operates under the Terms and Conditions specified in the Challenge Collaborative Agreement.

The Board is responsible for appointing the Director, Science Leadership Team, Kāhui Māori, and Stakeholder Panel.

The Board is also responsible for approving projects within the Research and Business Plan and for allocating funding.

Sir Rob Fenwick (Chair)

Rob is a businessman and company director aligned to sustainable development. He is current Chair of Antarctica New Zealand and the New Zealand Antarctic Research Institute, and director of NEXT Foundation and Sir Peter Blake Trust. Rob is formerly deputy Chair of TVNZ, Chair of St Johns Ambulance and Landcare Research; co-founder of Living Earth Ltd.

Roger France

Roger is a professional company director (Chief Financial Officer for Allied Farmers Co-operative Ltd and Freightway Holdings Ltd; a director of Air New Zealand, Fisher & Paykel Healthcare Corporation and Orion Health Group; former director for the Fonterra Co-operative Group; appointed to the Council of the University of Auckland in 2001, Chancellor from 2009-2012).

Bruce Mapstone

Bruce has significant management experience and knowledge of climate and marine science (former Chief CSIRO Marine and Atmospheric Research, Chief Executive of the Antarctic Climate and Ecosystems Cooperative Research Centre, Chief Executive for the Centre for Australian Weather and Climate Research). 

Rebecca Mills

Rebecca is sustainability strategist (strategist for central/local government on sustainability, energy, climate change, water and waste strategy and policy, public/private partnerships and governance; led plans for energy developments with Contact Energy, Mighty River Power, Belvedere waste to energy plant (London), Tripcock Point Masterplan (London), Thames Gateway Bridge (London), Tairua Marina and Wairakei Geothermal Power Station; one of two UK representatives on ESPACE (European Spatial Planning Adapting to Climate Events) project team to shape planning for climate change adaptation at a global level.

John Morgan

Chief Executive of NIWA, Sustainable Seas host organisation.

James Palmer

James has expertise in government policy and planning, and economics (former Deputy Secretary Strategy, Ministry for the Environment, responsible for strategy development across the natural resources sector, including climate change and ocean management; former Director Strategy, Systems and Science Policy at the Ministry for Primary Industries and Director Strategy at the former Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry; former Chief of Staff to the Minister of Agriculture, Forestry, and Fisheries, and Senior Private Secretary to the Deputy Prime Minister).

Sir Mark Solomon

Sir Mark is a professional director and Māori tribal leader of Ngāi Tahu and Ngāti Kurī decent (Kaiwhakahaere (Chair) of Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu; director of Te Ohu Kaimoana (Māori Fisheries Trust), Chair of the New Zealand China Council; former director Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa).

Shelley Campbell

Shelley is a Chief Executive Officer of Sir Peter Blake Trust and a board member of the Halberg Trust, Te Pou and Cancer Council New Zealand. Former Chief Executive of Waikato Primary Health and Chair of the National Bowel Cancer Screening Taskforce.

Volker Kuntzsch

Chief Executive Officer of Sanford Ltd. Formerly President and Chief Executive Officer of King and Prince Seafood Corporation, President of Nissui U.S.A., and an Executive Officer of Nippon Suisan Kaisha Ltd. Experience in developing awareness of seafood sustainability through the development of Marine Stewardship Council (MSC). 

Rob Jager

Rob is Chairman of the Shell Companies in New Zealand and General Manager, Shell Todd Oil Services. He is also a Non Executive Director at Air New Zealand.

Latest news and updates

Eureka! Is ocean farming the future?

Jonathan Chan, from Auckland Grammar School, has won the Eureka Award Gold Scholarship sponsored by NIWA for the most innovative and creative science, technology and/or engineering solution that addresses issues at the core of the Sustainable Seas National Science Challenge.

Coastal tipping points talk at EDS conference

Prof Simon Thrush gave an invited presentation about our national estuaries experiment, and opportunities for management and governance agencies to address sudden unexpected changes in marine ecosystems.