The Kāhui Māori provides both expertise and awareness of the issues in the focal area to advise the Challenge, so that its science directions, quality and approach will deliver real benefits for Māori.

Andrew (Anaru) Luke

Andrew was elected to the Ngāti Rārua Iwi Trust, Settlement Trust and Te Rūnanga O Ngāti Rārua in 2011 and has held positions as Trustee, Chair and is currently the Deputy Chair of Te Rūnanga O Ngāti Rārua (One of the eight iwi of Te Tau Ihu o Te Waka – Top of the South Island). He was an independent Director of Te Tao Tangaroa Limited (the Ngāti Rārua fishing asset holding company) for eight years. Andrew currently works for the Department of Conservation (DOC) as Director, Future Direction/Strategic Positioning to ensure that Māori values are incorporated across conservation business. 

His team service a Ministerially appointed Committee that are accountable for an annual distribution of government funds for biodiversity management on Maori land and the revitalisation and protection of matauranga Maori.  

Andrew previously worked for the Ministry for the Environment and Ministry of Fisheries. He has a strong passion for the environment and incorporating Māori values (economic, cultural, social, and environmental) and knowledge in to the management of natural resources. His Whakapapa links to: Ngāti Rārua, Ngāti Toa Rangatira, Ngāti Kinohaku, Ngāti Maniapoto, Rangitane.

Sarah-Jane Tiakiwai

Sarah-Jane has a PhD in Philosophy from the University of Waikato and is the Academic Director for the Waikato-Tainui College for Research and Development which is an entity of the Waikato Tainui Group.  Previously, Sarah-Jane was a Senior Research Fellow, Pro Vice Chancellor Māori Office, University of Waikato and Associate Professor and Academic Director, Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiarangi. 

Sarah-Jane’s professional specialty is social science specialising in Kaupapa Māori research methods and theory, iwi development research and engagement and the interface between mātauranga Māori and science. 

Sarah-Jane was a member of the Sustainable Seas Interim Science Leadership Team and was key in pulling together the material for both the Vision Mātauranga and Tangaroa programmes for the Challenge. Her Whakapapa links to: Te Rarawa, Waikato, Ngaati Awa, Ngaati Pikiao (whaangai) descent.

Sheryl Miller

Sheryl is the Senior Science Coordinator at Greater Wellington Regional Council.

Kirsty Woods

Ngāti Hauiti

Kirsty’s career has included policy roles in Manatu Māori, the Parliamentary Commissioner for the Environment and the Ministry for the Environment. Since the early 2000s, she has worked in senior policy roles at Te Ohu Kaimoana, including managing the Fisheries and Aquaculture Team. Her areas of focus have involved fisheries policy and management, aquaculture and the Māori Fisheries Review.

She holds Masters Degrees in modern languages (Victoria University) and resource management (Canterbury University), and a Diploma in Photography (Massey University).

Latest news and updates

Minister announces Phase II funding

The Minister of Research, Science and Innovation has today announced the Sustainable Seas National Science Challenge will receive $39.8 million for the second five-year phase of the Challenge.  Funding will start on 1 July 2019.

Growing a blue economy on the East Coast

In September, Hikurangi Enterprises hosted a two-day wānanga in Tairāwhiti Gisborne. The wānanga brought together whānau, community and scientists to talk about the opportunities to grow the East Coast blue economy and how kaitiaki can partner with researchers.

Strengthening international research links

Challenge researchers are strengthening links with Canadian research programmes involved in ocean conservation, climate change, and social and economic development of marine environments.